Taste of Christmas Granola

December 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

granola bar

One of my favorite things to do is experiment in the kitchen, try out new recipes and come up with creative ways of tweaking them to enhance nutrient density. You’ll see proof of this as I really get this blog going in 2013 🙂 I love discovering a recipe that brings a smile to the faces of my family, friends, and clients all the while knowing that the ingredients are of the highest quality and nutrients. It’s really true…we can have taste AND health!

The problem with many store bought granola bars is that they’re loaded with refined sugar and have a long list of ingredients (not really a good sign).
I found this recipe on Gwyneth Paltrow’s GOOP site http://goop.com/recipes/snacks/granola-bars. I started exploring GOOP when preparing for our trip to London. We were very pleased with her restaurant suggestions but I’ll save those details for a later date.

For these bars, I used coconut oil rather than canola and milled flax meal rather than the seeds. Coconut oil is a much better option as a healthy, high quality fat. Canola oil is low in healthy omega-3 fatty acids and is highly refined. I used milled flax just because that’s what I had in my kitchen. For dried fruit, I had a mix of dried plums, apricots, and figs on hand so those went into the bars.
I made these bars the day after Christmas as a healthy treat for my husband to take with him on his fishing trip and while visiting, my brother-in-law also had the chance to sample them. With one bite he commented, “they taste like Christmas”!
I liked this feedback and attribute it to my heavy hand when adding a “pinch” of nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon. My husband, Kyle, loved them too. I liked the fact that they didn’t get too crumbly. For some reason, this tends to happen to me when I make granola bars…I end up with a pile of crumbly granola rather than an actual bar.

I’m thinking that the next time I make them I’ll try adding nuts and maybe dried cranberries.
I hope you get the chance to try these out!

xo,
Lynn

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Taste of Christmas Granola at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

