Old Friends, New Friends, Great Food

January 16, 2013 § Leave a comment

IMG_0374
Last week was a stellar friends and food week for me.

I love to cook at home about 99% of the time, but I also love a date night with my husband. Since Kyle is away from home so much due to fishing, I usually have to go outside the home to find a good date!  This also applies to weddings (except for my own.)

On Wednesday night, I dined with my husband and a dear friend/teacher, Coral, for the first time at Chez Pascal in Providence.  This of course, was my first time there since the trip from Newport to Providence is just such a hike!

Such amazing food… I shared a warm salad of red cabbage, walnuts, and apples along with a butternut squash and greens salad with Kyle.  For entrees, I had the duck, while my two dates went with a seafood option, scallops and yellowtail.
IMG_0369
IMG_0370

I’ve attached some photos and as you’ll see, I even had my picture taken with the chef, so exciting!
IMG_0372
Friday night was really a pilgrimage.  With my friend and former roommate, Kerri, and her sister Colleen, we made the trip up to Cambridge, MA to check out a restaurant that’s been on my list for a while.  Oleana serves middle eastern meze, small plates that are easily shared. This place was off the charts, a fantastic dining experience.
IMG_0373
IMG_0380
IMG_0378
IMG_0375

 

Some of what we sampled:
Spinach Falafel with Tahini, Yogurt, and Beets
Spicy Sardines with Shaved Fennel, Grains of Paradise and Meyer Lemon Mousse
Sultan’s Delight; Tamarind-glazed beef & smokey eggplant puree
Chick Pea Terrine with Apricot, Pistachio, and Tahini
Monkfish
Dark Leafy Greens with Toum

I’d love to head back there with Kyle in the warmer months to enjoy a meal on their beautiful patio.

Any places you’ve been intending to visit? Or, friends that you’d love to catch up with?

xo,
Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old Friends, New Friends, Great Food at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

