Cauliflower Pizza

January 19, 2013 § Leave a comment

pizza

Yes, that’s right, this pizza crust is made from cauliflower.

Earlier this month I discovered Love and Lemons , a recipe blog with beautiful food photos.  When I spotted this recipe I was intrigued, but doubtful that the ingredients would actually form a nice crust and taste great.  So I tried it out, first on myself, then on Kyle.  Because I tend to really, really love super healthy food, it’s good for me to get a second opinion on taste 🙂

This recipe was fast, easy, and forgiving. I initially used too much cauliflower, so I just modified by mixing additional almond flour until I arrived at the right consistency. I also liked that I could make the dough ahead of time, pop it in the fridge, and take it out to throw together a fast dinner for the next few nights.

Here’s a shot of my dough before it went into the oven.  Simple to prepare and no rolling!

crust

 

You can experiment with endless topping options. I used tomatoes, egg, basil, and mozzarella cheese on this one. I also modified the dough recipe by omitting onion powder, garlic powder, and nutritional yeast. Essentially, I just used the cauliflower, eggs, almond flour, and salt.
Of course, it’s not going to taste like your typical pizza. In other words, if you attended URI like me, it’s not going to take you back to your days of eating at Kingston Pizza. But, it is a delicious way to add in more vegetables. Oh, and Kyle really liked it to!

xo,
Lynn

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cauliflower Pizza at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

