Winter Body Butter

February 5, 2013 § 2 Comments

IMG_0398

Clove Body Butter

I may be alone in this feeling, but I’ll share it anyway….

I really like winter.  While most people are counting down the days until spring, I enjoy the quiet and slower-paced months of January and February.  I feel that Mother Nature gives me permission this time of year to slow down, and enjoy things like warming soups, candles, and staying inside to study.

I do look forward to the longer days of spring and summer, but I really do appreciate winter for being, well, winter.

With that said, I was freezing a couple of weeks ago when the wind picked up and the temperatures dipped into the single digits!  I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try treat my skin and try out this body butter recipe I found on Rawmazing

This website provides detailed instructions for making body butter.  Below are some of the photos I took through the process.

IMG_0391

Raw Shea Butter ordered from Amazon

IMG_0393

Melting shea butter with coconut oil

IMG_0395

Shea butter, coconut oil, and almond oil after it was sitting outside (19 degrees!) to cool off for 30 minutes.

IMG_0396

Whipped ingredients!

IMG_0397

Final product ready to go into a jar.

I’ve never made any type of lotion or butter before and I can promise that this recipe is super easy…just 3 ingredients.  I chose clove bud for my essential oil since the bottle had “comforting” written on it.  Everyone wants to feel comforted, especially when it’s cold outside, right?

The recipe makes a large batch so I was able to share with friends.  I use it every day and Kyle has even been using it on his hands.

I hope you get the chance to try it out for yourself and pamper your winter skin.

xo,
Lynn

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Winter Body Butter

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winter Body Butter at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta