Vacation

April 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Just a little commentary on vacations.  Those close to me know how much I value time off with my husband.  It’s rare that we get to spend time together due to Kyle’s schedule as a commercial fisherman.

DSCN1727

Photo from the Ring of Kerry during our trip to Ireland in 2010.

This past February, Kyle was able to take two weeks off.  A little rest and relaxation, along with some fine dining, yoga classes, walks, and bike rides was just what we needed.

Before our time off together while Kyle was still out fishing, I tuned into a video conference hosted by the founder of the school I’m attending, Dr. Halpern from the California College of Ayurveda.  He spoke on the topic of Love and Ayurveda. This was actually quite funny since it was Valentine’s Day, I didn’t have a date, and I was the only student who tuned in to the video conference.  So, there I was talking love and ayruveda on Valentine’s Day.

In all honesty, the call was amazing and I learned a lot.  One of the points that struck me most was when Dr. Halpern discussed how vacations are so important because they give us a chance to “vacate” the mind, get back into nature, slow down, and reconnect with ourselves and partner.  This totally rang true for me.  There are countless reasons for why I like to get away for a bit, but mostly it’s because when I step outside of my usual routine, I get experience life in a different way.  I take the opportunity to get outside, rather than sit in front of a computer while my brain tries to keep up with the pace it sets.  Essentially, I find that our world opens up, we glean insight and recharge our soul.  I know that I don’t need to convince anyone that vacations are a good thing, but  I just loved this perspective of understanding vacations as vacating the mind; I feel such a sigh of relief when I consider this.  If you’re like me, you may often find your mind racing with thoughts about things to do, new ideas, and planning.  Getting out of our heads for a while actually seems to open up a different way of knowing and understanding ourselves and the world around us.  After these two weeks, I’m feeling more grounded, energized, and reconnected with my spouse.

Is there some way you can allow yourself  a mini-vacation from an overly active mind?

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vacation at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

