Overnight Oats

April 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

photo-49

Refrigerator Oats with cacao, chia, banana, yogurt, and milk.

photo-49

Aerial view!

One of the comments I hear most often from clients is that they don’t have enough time in the morning to prepare a healthy breakfast.  So, when I discovered this quick and healthy breakfast idea from The Yummy Life,  I had to try out a version for myself in hopes of recommending it to others.  I like the idea of this recipe for a few reasons: 1) it’s quick and can be prepared ahead of time; 2) there are endless variations so it can’t get boring; 3) when warm oatmeal isn’t appealing during the summer months, refrigerator oats are a nice option.

Recipes can be found on The Yummy Life.  For the oatmeal pictured in the photo above, I used:

  • 1/4 rolled oats
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/4 plain yogurt
  • 1/3 cup whole milk
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder
  • 1/2 banana, sliced

Simply combine all ingredients and place in the refrigerator overnight.  I used cow’s milk from a local farm, but I think coconut milk would work nicely here too.  If you wanted to add a sweetener, I’d go with honey or maple syrup.

xo,

Lynn

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Overnight Oats at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

