Ina Interview

April 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

On March 26th my friend Kerri and I went to see Ina Garten at PPAC.   I’ve been following The Barefoot Contessa on the Food Network for years!  Just like fellow Ina fans, I dream about visiting her at her East Hamptom home and having her prepare lunch for me, maybe even a picnic lunch that we could enjoy on the beach together.  I love her simple and delicious approach to food.

Before visiting London in 2012, I watched Ina and Jeffrey’s special London episode to get the inside scoop on the best spots to visit.

On that night at PPAC, Johanne Killeen, owner of Al Forno and close friend of Ina’s, interviewed her.

I love listening to successful people who are truly passionate about their work.  And by success, I mean creating a life that they love. Regardless if they’re an author, cook, yoga instructor, musician, or athlete, there’s something so incredible about watching someone step fully into their life’s purpose.  I just get that “good for you” feeling 🙂 Their messages are inspiring and I find that while witnessing them stand in their power, I feel elevated to that place in my life.  It’s a great reminder that this is accessible to each of us in our own way.

Here are a few of my reflections from that evening:

  •  With all of her achievements, Ina is still very humble.  Throughout my life I’ve found that humility is the quality I admire most in people for two reasons.  First, it’s just refreshing to listen to someone speak about what they do without sounding condescending.  Second, I think that humble people actually get more out of life; they always approach opportunities with an open, beginners mind, and therefore, they are truly able to be present and learn.
  • Although Ina seems to have it all right now in life, she’s worked for it and still is working for it.  It’s a nice reminder to hear that she’s had plenty of moments along the way that she thought “what am I doing” or “I’ve made a huge mistake taking this risk”.  I find it comforting to hear this as a small business owner pursuing my passion.  The thing that pulls us forward is surrendering to a vision that is bigger than us.
  • The evening was a nice reminder to LOVE  the work you do.  By doing so, you’ll not only create a beautiful life for yourself, but you’ll also touch the lives  of others.

On a separate note, I purchased an autographed copy of  her new cookbook, Foolproof.  I’ll often use recipes as ideas for creating a meal, rather than follow them verbatum.  I took this Salmon and Guacamole and used it as inspiration to make a quick version.  I used smoke salmon, 1 sliced avocado, and 1 tablespoon of capers, over a couple of pieces of toast for a fast, 4 ingredient breakfast.

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ina Interview at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

