Girls Weekend

June 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

IMG_0690

Ocean House brunch in Watch Hill

Last weekend while my sister and brother-in-law spent some time in NYC, I had a fun girls weekend at home in Newport with my super adorable 4-year old niece, Elsa.

Well, it wasn’t completely a girls weekend, Kyle was around and I was happy to have him home to help me entertain Elsa 🙂  He took us to brunch on Sunday at The Ocean House, colored, and played catch outside.

Kyle and Elsa drawing a fish

Kyle and Elsa drawing a fish

I had big plans to have Elsa try my strawberry coconut popsicles, banana bread, and roasted carrots.   I was determined to get some fruit and vegetables into her over the weekend.  Things didn’t go quite as well as I had planned with this.

Making banana bread

Making banana bread

Not being a Mom, I had no idea how difficult it is to convince a child to eat something that’s good for them, and by the way, all of these recipes were delicious!  Needless to say, I learned a few things about little ones. Elsa likes bananas and bread, but apparently not banana bread. She did help me make it though.  She likes strawberry yogurt, but wasn’t interested in trying my strawberry coconut pops.  Thankfully, Grandma and Grandpa came over and enjoyed my cooking which was nice and reassuring.  I am confident that in a few years, she’ll LOVE the food I make for her.

IMG_0687

Playing “Big and Little Letter Game”

Taking a break from playing catch.

Taking a break from playing catch.

Aside from me falling short with introducing new recipes, we had an awesome weekend together.  We played games, went to brunch, watched the Muppet Show, colored – a lot, played catch with Uncle Kyle, and spent a lot of time giggling 🙂  I hate to brag, but my  niece is a wonderful little girl – happy, sweet, and loving.  I can’t wait to play again soon.

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Girls Weekend at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

