Refreshing Summer Tea

June 21, 2013 § 2 Comments

 green tea indoor

A very cool opportunity presented itself last month.  I am beyond excited to be creating a juice and smoothie bar menu for a NY based health food store.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been writing and testing various recipes.  I don’t think I’ve ever consumed so many fruits and vegetables in my life AND I’m happy to report that I’m feeling fabulous; I highly recommend incorporating these into your diet 🙂

With that said, there’s only so much one person can eat in a day, regardless if it’s just vegetables.  Then it dawned on me, I can freeze these smoothies in ice cube trays, Popsicle molds, or ramekins to enjoy at a later date.  Last week I began making almond and cashew milk with various spices.  They are so, so good!  I froze the extra nut milk concoctions and I’ve started using them as ice cubes for my iced green tea in the morning. I’m loving this refreshing and satiating morning drink.  My cashew milk consists of medjool dates and spices such as vanilla.  I also plan to use frozen strawberry puree cubes made with local RI berries.  Alternatively, you could make green tea ice cubes and throw them in a fruit smoothie or cashew milk as pictured in the photo above.   Cashew milk combined with green tea ice cubes in Vitamix Blender makes a delicious green tea frappe.  Throw in some mint leaves and it’s even better!

How can you get creative at cooling off this summer with a healthy diet?

xo,

Lynn

§ 2 Responses to Refreshing Summer Tea

  • Congrats on the restaurant menu gig, Lynn, that’s terrific! I particularly like your idea about strawberry puree cubes. I freeze extra coconut milk in cubes as well as soaked chia seeds for smoothies.

  • lgoodwin28 says:

    Thank you Leslie! Great seeing you at Belcourt a few weeks ago. I love that you freeze coconut milk and chia seeds as a quick smoothie boost! My freezer is getting pretty full these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Refreshing Summer Tea at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

