My New Favorite Pancakes

July 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

 

Banana pancakes with blueberries and mint

Banana pancakes with blueberries and mint

Before I began to shift my food choices about 3 years ago, I used eat pancakes often, sometimes for breakfast and sometimes for dinner.

Over the past few years I’ve experimented with countless pancake recipes utilizing coconut flour or almond flour.  I was shooting for a delicious pancake without refined sugar and white flour.  A traditional pancake with these ingredients is void of any nutritional value and will most likely send you into a vicious sugar craving cycle – something I’m really not interested in.  I loved some of the new recipes I experimented with while others were less than appealing.   Recently, I gave up trying to replicate a traditional pancake and instead opted for creating a completely new pancake experience.  I’m loving this current recipe and the best part is that it’s also Kyle approved – he thinks it tastes like dessert!  I have to agree with him, it’s like a custard.   Besides taste, another nice bonus is that you can put it together in no time with just a few ingredients.

1 large banana, mashed

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla powder or extract

Combine above ingredients. Pre-heat the broiler.  Heat coconut oil or ghee in a pan (I used an oven safe 10″ fry pan) on the stove on low to medium heat and add above mixture once the pan is heated.  In about 5-10 minutes, the pancake will be set.  Transfer the pan to the oven and let cook until the top of the pancake is cooked through, just a few minutes.  Remove from the oven and slide onto a plate.  Now that I look at the photo, it’s more like an omelet or tortilla than it is a pancake.

The banana makes this dish incredibly sweet and the vanilla is a wonderful addition reinforcing the dessert element.

Experiment with various ingredients.  For instance, I added frozen wild blueberries to these pancakes and topped them with ghee and fresh mint.

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My New Favorite Pancakes at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

