Farmer’s Market Salad and Dessert + Organizing Recipes

August 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

pie

photo-67

Although I own plenty of cookbooks to keep occupied for a while, I still find myself seeking new recipes online; especially since I’m always looking for healthier, simpler, and yummier ways to eat.  This year, I began tracking my favorite recipe websites and blogs.  The list is getting long!  There are so many good ones out there.  I love vegetarian themed blogs as well as traditional foods sites.  I also seek out sites that highlight specific ethnic cuisines for a new take on food preparation, flavor combinations,  and use of spices.  I’ve been printing out some of my favorite recipes and compiling them in binders.

Over the years, I’ve organized my binders by categories like “soups”, “breakfast”, “meat”, “salads”, etc.  But now, I have a better idea and suggested organization method!  May I share it with you?  How about organizing your recipes by season?  Eating seasonally is best in terms of nourishing your body and enjoying your food.   I gravitate towards my favorite squash, apple, and root vegetable dishes every fall, my asparagus and greens recipes in the spring,  my strawberry recipes in June, blueberries in July, peaches and zucchini in August, etc!  Since the seasons are short for each, it’s nice to keep track of the best ways to incorporate these seasonal foods into your meals so that you go to the market prepared.

One of my favorite blogs, Green Kitchen Stories, was recently featured in Food & Wine Magazine.   I tried two more of their recipes this week while Kyle has been in: the berry tart pictured above and a vegetable ceviche pictured below.

photo-7

Many of the ingredients I used are from the local farmer’s market.  I used blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries for the tart.  I also served this with some fresh figs, creme fraiche, and cinnamon. Yum!!   Kyle and I enjoyed the ceviche with some swordfish he caught this week along with grilled peaches with walnuts & a Greek yogurt/creme fraiche combo for dessert.

I hope you get the chance to sample some local summer fruit and vegetables before the fall arrives.

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Farmer’s Market Salad and Dessert + Organizing Recipes at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

