My Pure Food and Wine Experience

September 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

Pure Food and Wine Mushrooms

In 2011, while attending the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, I learned about many dietary theories, all of which made perfect sense to me.   With each new lesson, I tried out a new way of eating, which, by the way is a pretty nice way to determine how certain foods feel in your body.  I often get asked, “how do I know what to eat”?  A perfect starting point is try the food and notice how you feel.  During my studies, I tried to follow a vegan diet, then vegetarian, then paleo,  etc.

As a newbie to the concept of raw foods a couple of years ago, I thought that this was the answer to all of my wellness goals.

I didn’t take me long to realize that my diet would always be evolving as nothing in life is static.  Seasons, activity levels, and moods change, so tuning in and listening to what my body needs today, is the key.

All diets make sense for someone, at some point.

Since beginning my education in Ayurveda, I’ve come to understand my inherent constitution, experimented with food more, and come to understand that for me, most times of the year, I do much better with cooked, moist, grounding foods.  My body and mind feel much more balanced when eating this way.  However, there is a time and place for a raw foods way of eating.  Take for example, this past hot, humid July.  I definitely gravitated towards raw, cooling fruits and vegetables. I’ve relaxed into learning and exploring without needing a definitive answer on what I should be eating.  I love taking bits and pieces of each dietary theory and working them into my life as it suits my unique constitution.

With that said, it doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy a special raw foods restaurant, especially since it’s such a novelty.

In August of 2012, while in NYC, I finally made it to Pure Food and Wine. 

On a warm summer evening, here’s what I had the pleasure of eating:

Asparagus and Truffle Salad

Sweet corn and cashew tamales with chili spice-portabella.  This was amazing!  Also included avocado, cashew coconut sour cream and raw cacao mole…heavenly!

Pure Food and Wine - Tamale

I hope you get to experiment with different ways of eating, begin to trust that you do know what you should be eating, and feel empowered to let to let go of having to be told what to eat.  You are your own health expect.

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Pure Food and Wine Experience at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

