Trip to Oregon

October 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Had to purchase yet another farmer's market bag!

Had to purchase yet another farmer’s market bag!

Last week, Kyle and I traveled to Portland, OR for our fall vacation and to celebrate our sixth year wedding anniversary.  I love heading west for a getaway (although, I do love heading east in the direction of Europe even more).  In all honesty, we did enjoy our time in OR even though we had to skip the two days planned in Crater Lake and come home early due to inclement weather.  Before I share some of the details from our trip, I’ll come clean and tell you that our primary motivation behind choosing Portland was to EAT!  And, of course, to unplug and enjoy some quality time in nature together.  You’ll see from my photos that we stuck to our plan.

Multnomah Falls

Multnomah Falls

I hope some of this information is helpful to you if you’re ever planning a trip to this area. We stayed at the Heathman Hotel in Portland and the Oxford Hotel in Bend.  Both of which we really liked.  We ended up in Bend as last minute decision when we canceled our plans for Crater Lake.  Bend was a really nice surprise.  It is very beautiful area with completely different climate from Portland.  On the other side of the Cascades, Bend has a dry, high desert climate rather than Portland’s moist climate. Trip highlights In Portland…

  • Visiting the Japanese Gardens
  • Hiking around Multnomah Falls. On the sunniest day of our trip, we stopped at the Columbia River Gorge and Multnamoh Falls en route to Hood River.   We enjoyed a nice 1 mile hike up to the falls.  I really do love that Pacific Northwest moist air!  After stopping for lunch in Hood River, we did the “Fruit Loop”.  This drive offered gorgeous views of Mount Hood as we stopped at numerous farm stands to sample nectarines, pears, plums, and apples.  I also purchased some local hazelnut butter, something I’ve never tried before this trip.
  • Visiting one of Portland’s farmer’s markets and picking up these finds: Nectar Creek Honeywine and Mickleberry Honey
  • Meeting my friend Cassandra at Andina and receiving a jar of honey from her bees 🙂

In Bend…

  • Directly across from our hotel in Bend were a few great places.  Our visit to Lone Pine Coffee Roasters really made me reconsider drinking coffee again, with varieties like buttered caramel, grape, and mulling spice.  Kyle and I both ordered a fantastic chai tea here.  Bhuvana was a very cool store with yoga apparel, yoga classes, and Ayurvedic products.  They sell mostly Be Present brand yoga clothing which I love.  Just above the clothing rack, was a pleasant surprise!  My teacher and friend, Coral Brown’s photo for the company’s advertising was right up there on the wall!  So nice seeing a familiar face when you’re away from home 🙂
  • We visited Townshend’s Tea where I purchased some loose leaf tea: a pumpkin chai, creme da la earl grey, and circulatory stimulant from their herbal and apothecary menu.  Kyle and I also ordered a delicious coconut tea latte.

Where we ate

  • On our first night in Portland, we indulged in a little ice cream at Salt & Straw.  After sampling a few, Kyle and I both decided on the sweet corn waffles and caramel option from the chef collaboration series.
  • Breakfast at Prasad and Harlow.  Both spots had great, healthy eating menus. I was able to get a juice or smoothie everyday along with a nice breakfast.  I really loved Prasad’s spiced iced coffee with cinnamon, cardamom, and coconut milk.  And, I also love how in Ayurveda, cardamom is used in coffee to counteract the negative effects of caffeine. This was the first time I’d had coffee in one year! Although I drink tea and pretty much gave up coffee a few years ago, I often find myself ordering it when on vacation.
  • Lunch at the amazing Andina, twice!  This was one of Kyle’s favorite spots.
  • Dinner at: Paley’s Place, Clark Lewis, Beast and Roe.  We loved the atmosphere, service and food at Clark Lewis.  Beast and Roe were both incredible dining experiences.  Beast offered a six course menu with communal seating.  We enjoyed French onion soup, a charcuterie plate, quail, scallops, cheese plate, and nectarine & thyme cobbler.  The four courses I selected at Roe were blue marlin ceviche, poached scallop, sea bass, and an oregon peach, fig, praline, and brown butter cake.  Yum!
Mount Hood

Mount Hood

IMG_1052

Charcuterie Plate at Beast

IMG_1053

Quail at Beast

IMG_1069

Dinner at Roe

IMG_1068

Another course from Roe

IMG_1070

And another…

Ok, this is the last one.

Ok, this is the last one.

IMG_1013

Menu at Salt & Straw

IMG_1017

Breakfast at Harlow

IMG_1016

Juice at Harlow

IMG_1040

Japanese Gardens

I love a short getaway from my routine at home, but I also love coming home too 🙂 I hope you get the chance to travel and explore sometime soon AND also appreciate the beauty of where you live! xo, Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trip to Oregon at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

