The Great Pumpkin

October 23, 2013 § Leave a comment

Trying out all things pumpkin this month.

Roasted acorn squash with coconut oil, nuts, and raisins

Roasted acorn squash with coconut oil, nuts, and raisins

 

Pumpkins provide wonderful benefits that go beyond their nutritional profile. They are packed with beta-carotene, but did you also know that they are the perfect food for us during the fall months?  It’s true!  Pumpkins are highly nourishing during a time of year when many of us are feeling the effects of cooler, drier air.  During the fall, I hear that a lot of people are feeling stressed and scattered and experiencing dryness in their body. Pumpkins are grounding, nourishing, and calming to the nerves.  Paired with spices such as nutmeg, is a combination for relaxing the nerves and building nourishment in preparation for the colder winter months that can feel depleting to us.

Today I’m sharing few pumpkin or squash-themed dishes I’ve tried out this month.

My new obsession is  Townshend’s Tea, Pumpkin Chai.  I’ve been waking up with this tea for the past couple weeks and loving it.  Most chai tea mixes, including this one, are accompanied with instructions for adding in sugar.  Instead, I added about a 1/2 cup of warmed milk and a teaspoon of honey.  For a variation on the milk, I crushed 8 cardamom pods, removed the seeds, mixed with milk and brought to a boil.  Once boiling, I removed the pan from the stove and let the seeds steep in the milk for a few minutes before straining and combining milk with tea and honey. You could also use almond or coconut milk.

I’ve also been stocking up on BPA-free canned pumpkin.  Using canned pumpkin is a quick way to add-in some extra nutrition to your oatmeal  along with flax, maple syrup, nuts, and raisins.  Or, you can also add the pumpkin to a smoothie with some banana and coconut milk.   Pumpkin seeds can also replace the use of nuts in a smoothie or oatmeal.

can

One of my favorite fall go-to meals is stuffed roasted acorn squash.  In the photo above, I sliced the squash in half, removed the seeds, spread some coconut oil and cinnamon, stuffed with nut butter, pistachios, raisins, dates, and then I roasted at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes.

When Kyle came home this week, I made him a pumpkin treat…pumpkin truffles!

IMG_1106

Pumpkin Truffles

IMG_1114

Autumn Millet Bake

I also modified a recipe from 101 Cookbooks, using a combination of millet, quinoa, and oats.  I was happy to find fresh cranberries at the farmer’s market last week. 🙂

On my list for next week…roasted Kabocha squash with with curry and coconut.

I hope you get to try some pumpkin inspired dishes this week!

xo,

Lynn

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Great Pumpkin at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

