A Swiss Village in Newport RI

October 30, 2013 § 2 Comments

IMG_1136

For the ten years that we’ve lived in Newport, I’ve never had the opportunity to visit Swiss Village Foundation, a 5 minute drive from our home.  This all changed for me in 2013.  This private property is only open to the public for one day in June each year.   In May, I was able to attend a lecture  by Philip Ackerman-Leist highlighting his book, Rebuilding the Foodshed.  In June, I finally made it to the SVF tour open to the public.  And, this past week, I visited SVF twice!  First, on Tuesday as a guest of my friend Charlotte, who is a member of the Barrington Garden Club.  This was a very cool experience, I tagged along with garden club for lunch at Sweet Berry Farm followed by a private tour of SVF.  Crazy, but true, I found myself at SVF the next evening for another lecture, this time it was chef/owner  Jake Rojas of Tallulah on Thames and Pat McNiff of Pat’s Pastured (in case you need a Thanksgiving Day Turkey!) speaking about local food and farms.

To learn about SVF, it’s history, and their work to save heritage breed animals, check out their website, Swiss Village Foundation.   I’m planning on attending more talks from their lecture series and I’m also looking forward to swinging by to purchase some eggs, beef, and pork from their acorn-fed pigs 🙂

IMG_1135 IMG_1141IMG_1154IMG_1134 IMG_1133 IMG_1131 IMG_1130 IMG_1128 IMG_1127 IMG_1126 IMG_1124 IMG_1123 IMG_1121
IMG_1140 IMG_1145

§ 2 Responses to A Swiss Village in Newport RI

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Swiss Village in Newport RI at LIVE RADIANTLY.

meta

